Feature film El Buen Patrón and TV series El Reino lead the nominations for the 9th Annual PLATINO Awards for Ibero-American Cinema

Jesus Figueroa
(Info from press release)

Several Mexican works and a documentary on Rita Moreno among the nominees

Works from eleven different countries to be featured in the 9th awards gala: Spain, Mexico, Argentina, Brazil and Colombia lead the nominations


The nominees for the9th Annual PLATINO Awards for Ibero-American Cinema were announced today in an event hosted by the Madrid City Hall and attended by Ibero-American diplomats and renown personalities of the movie industry. 


The awards ceremony honoring the world’s best Spanish-language audiovisual works will take place in Madrid on May 1 and will be broadcast by TV networks across Ibero-America.


The TV works leading this year’s nominations are Argentina’s series El Reino, followed by Spain’s Hierro, with 3 nominations. Leading the nominations for best film production are Spain’s El Buen Patrón, with 11 nominations, Maixabel, with 8, and Madres Paralelas, with 7, while Mexico’s Noche de Fuego has three nominations and Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go for It, a documentary directed byMariem Pérez Riera, aspires to one statuette. 


The nominees for Best Ibero-American Fiction Film are Mexico’s Noche de Fuego, by Tatiana Huezo; Spain’s Madres Paralelas, by Pedro Almodóvar, El Buen Patrón, by Fernando León de Aranoa, andMaixabel, by Icíar Bollaín. 


The nominees for Best Ibero-American Fiction Miniseries/TV Series or Documentary Feature Filmare Mexico’s Luis Miguel: La serie, by Daniel Krauze, and Narcos: México, by Carlo Bernard, Chris Brancato and Doug Miro; Argentina’s El Reino, by Marcelo Piñeyro and Claudia Piñeiro; and Chile’s Isabel, by Rodrigo Bazaes.


Competing for the Best Director award are Tatiana Huezo (Noche de Fuego), Pedro Almodóvar (Madres Paralelas), Fernando León de Aranoa (El Buen Patrón) e Icíar Bollaín (Maixabel).


As for the Best Actress category, the nominees are Mexico’s Ilse Salas for her role in Panama’s Plaza Catedral, Penélope Cruz for Madres Paralelas (she was also nominated for an Oscar and the Copa Volpi at the Venecia Film Festival), Spain’s Ángela Molina for her performance in Paraguayan film Charlotte andBlanca Portillo for Maixabel. On the men’s side, the nominees for Best Actor are Spain’s Javier Bardem(El Buen Patrón), Brazil’s Rodrigo Santoro (7 Prisioneiros), Luis Tosar (Maixabel) and Eduard Fernández for his role in Spain’s Mediterráneo.


The nominees for Best Actress in a Supporting Roleare Ana Cristina Ordóñez González (Noche de Fuego), Aitana Sánchez-Gijón (Madres Paralelas), Milena Smit (Madres Paralelas), and Almudena Amor (El Buen Patrón).


The nominees for Best Actor in a Supporting Roleare Alfredo Castro for his performance in Argentina’sKarnawal, Christian Malheiros (7 Prisioneiros), Manolo Solo (El Buen Patrón) and Urko Olazabal(Maixabel).


Competing for the statuette for Best Fiction or Documentary Miniseries/TV Series are El Reino,Isabel, Luis Miguel: La serie and Narcos: México.


Alejandro Amenábar (La Fortuna), Juan José Campanella (Los Enviados), Macelo Piñeyro (El Reino), Claudia Piñeiro (El Reino) and Pepe Coira(Hierro) will compete for the Best Miniseries or Series Creator award.


The nominees for Best Actress in Miniseries or TV Series are Candela Peña (Hierro), Daniela Ramírez(Isabel), Maribel Verdú (Ana Tramel. El Juego), andMercedes Morán (El Reino). Competing on the men’s side for Best Actor in Miniseries or TV Series are Chino Darín (El Reino), Argentina’s Darío Grandinetti(Hierro), Diego Boneta (Luis Miguel: La serie) and Javier Cámara (Venga Juan).


The nominees for Best Actress in a Supporting Role in Miniseries or TV Series are Rosa María Bianchi(Monarca), Najwa Nimri (La Casa de Papel), María Pujalte (Venga Juan) y Nancy Dupláa (El Reino). Competing for Best Actor in a Supporting Role in Miniseries or TV Series are Alberto San Juan(Reyes de la Noche), Enric Auquer (Vida Perfecta),Joaquín Furriel (El Reino) and Karra Elejalde (La Fortuna).


Among the nominees for Best Documentary Film are 100 días con la Tata, by Miguel Ángel Muñoz (the director will be hosting the May 1 awards gala); A Última Floresta, by Luiz Bolognesi; Quién lo Impide, by Jonás Trueba; and Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go for It, by Mariem Pérez Riera. ThePLATINO Award for Best Debut Feature Film could go to Clara Sola, by Nathalie Álvarez Mesén, Karnawal, by Juan Pablo Félix, Libertad, by Clara Roquet or Sin Señas Particulares, by Fernanda Valadez.


The nominees for Best Screenplay are Abner Benaim (Plaza Catedral), Fernando León de Aranoa (El Buen Patrón), Henrique Dos Santos and Aly Muritiba (both for Deserto Particular), and Icíar Bollaín and Isa Campo (both for Maixabel). Among the nominees forBest Original Score are Alberto Iglesias for Madres Paralelas (nominated for an Oscar), César López (Memoria), Kenji Kishi Leopo (Los Lobos) and Zeltia Montes (El Buen Patrón, El Olvido que Seremos and La llorona). The nominees for Best Art Direction areEl Buen Patrón, El Diablo entre las Piernas, Madres Paralelas and Memoria.


On the technical side, 7 Prisioneiros, El Buen Patrón, Los Lobos and Maixabel will compete for the Best Film Editing award, whereas Clara Sola, El Buen Patrón, Mediterráneo and Memoria compete for Best Cinematography. The Best Sound award will go to either 7 Prisioneiros, El Buen Patrón, Memoria or Plaza catedral.


Competing for the Best Animated Film statuette are Ainbo, la guerrera del Amazonas, by José Zelada and Richard Claus; Bob Cuspe: Nós Não gostamos de gente, by César Cabral; Salvar el Árbol (Zutik!), by Haizea Pastor and Iker Álvarez; and Valentina, byChelo Loureiro. The nominees for the PLATINO Award for Best Education Values in a Feature Film are Los Lobos, by Samuel Kishi; Maixabel, by Icíar Bollaín; Mediterráneo, by Marcel Barrena; and Yo Nena, yo Princesa, by Federico Palazzo.


A panel of judges comprised of 135 members from 22 countries was convened to select this year’s finalists to ensure all regions were adequately represented to guarantee a level playing field. This year’s award winners will be selected by a panel of judges and both filmmakers and finalists from previous years.

The PLATINO Awards for Ibero-American Cinemaare presented by EGEDA (Management Entity of Audiovisual Producers’ Rights) and FIPCA (Ibero-American Federation of Film and Audiovisual Producers) in close collaboration with the Community of Madrid and the Madrid City Council. The latter two institutions are so devoted to attracting more filming projects to Madrid ––an ideal location for all types of film and TV productions–– that the region has turned into an intense activity hub generating enormous benefits to the audiovisual sector. The PLATINO Awards also has support from the World Tourism Organization and the Ibero-American Academies and Institutes of Film, unite the great talent of 23 Ibero-American countries and honor the works and best creators each year by presenting awards in 22 categories and the PLATINO Honorary Award. 


Ever since its launch in 2014, the PLATINO Awards have strived to promote Ibero-American films to ensure that success across the most prestigious film festivals leads to an outstanding theatrical run and an excellent commercial box-office performance.

Post a Comment


Post a Comment (0)

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Check Now
Accept !